Main Menu
Contact Us

Designed by:
ComVal Province Compostela Valley
PGO-ITCDD services
Municipality of Laak
Written by delight   
Monday, 23 May 2011

As  municpality and heaven of people from all walks of life, Laak is a rich not only in natural recources but also in history.

                 Viewed from the capital town of nabunturan, laak is located at the northwest portion of compostela valley along the provincial boundary between compostela valley and agusan del sur lying 8’ 00’ North to 7’38’51.73’ south latitude and 125’59’30” east longitude. It is bounded on its south western portion by the municipality of asuncion of the province of davao del norte , on its southeastern point by the municipalities of Montivista and Monkayo, on its west by the municipality of capalong of davao del norte, and its north by  the municipalities of  Veruela and Loreto of the province of agusan del sur


How It Got Its Name

                If traced from its roots, the original name that the pioneer resident use to call this place even long before  the very formation of its nucleus in 1965 is no other  than the native name LAAK, wich Divered from the name  of small thornless  bamboo planted in what is now in Sitio Old LAAK by the native chieftain, Datu Biyan Atay, the grandfather of the first bario Lieutenant, Datu Pio Atay, of bario laak said thornless bamboo is similar to but smallet than the bamboo called LUNAS by the Bisayan Tribes.

                The name laak, however, was not adopted when this place was created into a  municipality. The name San Vicente  was instantly coined just to insure the passage of the law creating this place into a town. The term san was attached to the name Vicente after the name of the father of then first lady Imelda Rumualdez Marcos. Confidetally, the law creating this town was approved on the eve of the feast day of  Sr. San Vicente Ferrer.

                As the town resident  found no meaniong in calling this place San Vicente, they unanimously approved during the plebicte called for the porpose on may 28,1994 the adoption of the name of the laak. Mayor Reynaldo B. Navarro, Vice Mayor Rogelio C. Arambala and the sangguniang bayan members at the time led the move for the changes of the name persuant to the desire of the people.  

Last Updated ( Thursday, 26 May 2011 ), Powered by ComVal and Designed by PGO-ITCDD Compostela Valley Province